Texas A&M-Kingsville schedules winter commencement Dec. 9

Steinke Physical Education Center - 12/09/16 - 12/09/16

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Nearly 1,000 graduates are ready to cross the stage to receive their degrees during three commencement ceremonies to be held at the Steinke Physical Education Center at Texas A&M University-Kingsville Friday, Dec. 9.

At the 10 a.m. ceremony, graduates from the Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences, the College of Business Administration and the College of Education and Human Performance will receive their degrees.

At the 1 p.m. ceremony, graduates from the College of Arts and Sciences will cross the stage. 

The graduates from the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering receive their degrees at 4 p.m.

Students receiving their master’s and doctoral degrees will be recognized within their academic colleges.

During the commencement ceremonies, David Barrera, Student Government Association president, will present the Distinguished Student Awards. Rick Garza, president of the Javelina Alumni Association, will present a university ring to one deserving graduate.

During the 1 and 4 p.m. ceremonies, LTC Thomas Troyn, professor of military science, will commission two students as Second Lieutenants in the United States Army. Commissionees include Jihad Muhammad Johnson and Nathaniel Lee Tunberg. 

The keynote speaker for the 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. ceremonies will be State Rep. Todd A. Hunter from District 32. Dr. Stephan Nix, professor of environmental engineering and former dean of the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering, will speak at the 4 p.m. ceremony. Maria L. Robinson, Chief Investment Officer and Treasurer for The Texas A&M University System, will bring greetings from The Texas A&M System. 

About State Rep. Todd A. Hunter

Hunter currently represents District 32 in the Texas House of Representatives, a position he has held since 2008. District 32 encompasses all of Aransas, San Patricio and Calhoun counties and part of Nueces County. He previously served in the House of Representatives from 1989 to 1997. 

He attended University of Kansas and Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law. He has practiced law since 1978 and is currently a partner in Hunter, Barker & Fancher, LLP in Corpus Christi.

During the 82nd Session, Hunter was named chairman of the Calendars Committee and Chairman of the Select Committee on Election Contest. He also served on the General Investigating & Ethics, Human Services and Correction Committees.

During the 83rd Session, Hunter’s seventh term, he was Chairman of the Calendars Committee and a member of the Redistricting, Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence, County Affairs, General Investigating and Ethics and Transportation Funding Committees. 

Hunter was elected for his eighth term in 2014. During the 84th Legislative Session, he was Chairman of the Calendars Committee, Vice Chairman of the Urban Affairs Committee and a member of the Criminal Jurisprudence, Redistricting and General Investigating and Ethics Committees. 

About Stephan Nix

Nix retired as dean of the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering this summer. He served as dean since 2010. He attended the University of Florida, where he received a bachelor of science in engineering science, a master of engineering in environmental engineering sciences and a doctorate in environmental engineering sciences. 

He has served on the civil and environmental engineering faculties and held several administrative positions at six different institutions including Syracuse University, University of Alabama, Northern Arizona University where he served as Chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering from 1997 to 2001, Florida Atlantic University where he served as the Founding Chair of the Department of Civil Engineering from 2001 to 2004 and University of North Florida where he served as Director of the School of Engineering from 2004 to 2009.

Nix’s principal research interests are in environmental systems modeling and urban stormwater management.  He has conducted research projects for the National Science Foundation, the American Water Works Association Research Foundation, Alabama Power Company, Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality and other public and private organizations. 

Nix has served as national president of both the American Institute of Hydrology and the American Water Resources Association.

About Maria L. Robinson

In her position as Chief Investment Officer and Treasurer for The Texas A&M University System, Robinson is responsible for the debt and investment management strategy and implementation for the A&M System. She manages two debt programs to fund capital needs throughout the System. Two portfolios are used for consolidated investment of operations and endowed assets of the System and other higher education institutions in Texas. 

Robinson has worked in several positions since joining the System in 1990. She started with the Texas A&M Research Foundation-Ocean Drilling Program and went to work as financial analyst for the System in 1998. She worked her way up as Manager of Financial Planning, Director of Financial Planning and Director of Treasury Services. 

She earned her bachelor of business administration degree in finance and accounting from Texas A&M University in 1995.She is a Certified Public Accountant in the state of Texas and a Certified Treasury Professional by the Association of Financial Professionals.