Dr. Natalya Delcoure Named to Texas Higher Ed Coordinating Board Committee

KINGSVILLE - November 07, 2017

Contact: Jason Marton
Email: jason.marton@tamuk.edu
or Phone:

Dr. Natalya Delcoure

Dr. Natalya Delcoure, dean of the College of Business Administration at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, was appointed by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to serve on a committee focused on the process of earning a business degree. 

The Business Administration and Management Field of Study (FOS) Advisory Committee is made up of 24 voting members—half from community colleges and half from public universities—to serve as a representative sample of institutions of varying sizes, peer groups and regions of the state.

The committee will identify the block of courses—

  • That may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution
  • That must be substituted for that institution’s lower-division requirements for the Business Administration and Management degree program into which the student transfers
  • For which the student must receive full academic credit toward the degree

According to the Coordinating Board, this FOS project contributes toward its 60x30TX goals of increasing college completion by easing student transfer across institutions, and reducing student debt by making it less likely that students will take unnecessary courses.

The 60x30TX plan calls for at least 60 percent of Texans ages 25-34 to have a certificate or degree by 2030.

Delcoure said of the appointment, “The work of The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is critically important. I am privileged to work with a team of academic colleagues on a plan that will further contribute to the excellence of a college education for Texas students by contributing to goals of increasing college completion and, at the same time, easing a student’s debt burden.”

About the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board provides leadership and coordination for the Texas higher education system. Since being created by the Texas Legislature in 1965, the Board has worked to achieve excellence for the college education of Texas students.

The Board meets four times a year. Meetings occur in Austin but are usually also broadcast on the Web.