Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes - April 4, 2023

Senators Present out-going and in-coming: Tanner Machado, Michael Houf, Lucy Camacho, Kathleen Rees, Michelle Garcia, Mauro Castro, Maria Hernandez-Vela, Reza Ahangar, Marion Blake, Linda Challoo, Steven Corbett, Abiola Dipeolu, Colleen Ferguson, David Hicks, Haeyoung Kim, Yongsok Kim, Maura Krestar, Jingbo Liu, Jody Marin, Reza Nekovei, Amber Shipherd, Daniella Varela, Teresa Young, Thomas Zinninger, Sangsoo Lee, Anne Marie-Leikes, Sara Lucas, Brian Menaker, Richard Miller, Mais Nijim, Francisco Aguiniga, Polly Allred, Bart Ballard, Travis Braidwood, Steven Chumbley, Steven Corbett, Jesus De La Rosa, Anders Greenspan, Norma Guzman, Jianhong Ren, Sandra Rideout-Hanzak, Tushar Sinha, Pamela Wright, Chongwei Xiao, Skye Limon, Brent Hedquist

This meeting of the Faculty Senate was conducted as a virtual/face-to-face hybrid in the Peacock Auditorium.

I. Call to Order and Quorum Call.

Meeting called to order at 3:40 pm by Dr. Tanner Machado

II. Presentation

a. No presentations.

III. Approval of Minutes from March 2023 meeting

a. Senate approved March 2023 minutes by unanimous vote

IV. Report of Officers

- a. President Dr. Machado report
 - i. President Vela meetings:
 - Department budgets now posted on Blue and Gold
 - SRI
 - Investigating alternative software for SRI to include more flexibility in administration of the course survey's.
 - Course survey open before the spring semester drop date and close April 21st.
 - Faculty Re-Investment Award budget increased to \$20,000.
 - Distinguished professorship rank discussion initiated
 - New university mace purchase approved
 - Fallen Memorial Task Force Committee created
 - UNIV Task Force Committee determined UNIV courses recommend colleges to teach courses fall 2023
 - Commencement invitations will be administered to TAMUK retirees
 - New student health provider, K Health provider, is available for student health and wellness. Will eventually include staff and faculty.

V. Standing Committee Reports

- a. Committee on Committee- no report
- b. Elections Committee:
 - i. College at large elections completed 4/3/23
- c. Resolution and By-laws committee no report

VI. Committees Reporting to the Senate

- a. Administrator Evaluation Committee no report
- b. Annual Faculty Lecture Committee
 - i. Dr. Amber Shipherd lecture April 18, 2023

- ii. Committee has selected the next lecturer; to be announced at Dr. Shipherd lecture
- c. Faculty Benefits Committee no report
- d. Faculty Evaluation Committee no report
- e. Faculty Handbook Committee no report
- f. Piper Award Committee Evaluating nominated candidate dossiers
- g. Policy and Revision Committee no report
- h. Ad-hoc Salary Equity Committee no report
- i. Ad-hoc Faculty Morale Survey Committee survey has been validated

VII. Old business

- a. PTR AOP draft 2 is available for discussion at the FS May 2023 meeting
- b. New Faculty Senate Mace voted on by senators

VIII. New Business

- a. 'Gavel' passed from Dr. Tanner Machado to Dr. Michael Houf
- b. Dr. Tanner Machado received plaque for appreciation of service to the faculty in capacity as Faculty Senate President
- c. Out-going (end of term) senators rotated off of the senate and new in-coming (beginning of term) senators rotated onto the senate
- d. Senator executive committee and standing committee elections:
 - i. Executive Committee:
 - President-Elect: Linda Challoo Secretary: Polly Allred Parliamentarian: Jody Marin College of Ag representative: Ben Turner College of Arts & Sci. representative: Maura Krestar College of Business representative: Kathleen Rees College of Engineering representative: David Hicks College of Education representative: Amber Shipherd

ii. Committee on Committees

College of Ag representative: Ben Turner College of Arts & Sci. representative: Pamela Wright College of Business representative: Hans Schumann College of Engineering representative: Tushar Sinha College of Education representative: Brian Menaker Library: Skye Limon

- iii. Elections Committee
 - Brent Hedquist Tom Zinninger Yongsok Kim Sangsoo Lee Sandra Rideout – Hanzak

iv. Resolution & By-Laws Committee

College of Ag representative: Michelle Garcia College of Arts & Sci. representative: Abiola Dipeolu College of Business representative: Anne-Marie Lelkes College of Engineering representative: Reza Nekovei College of Education representative: Norma Guzman Library: Skye Limon

IX. Meeting adjourned at 4:57pm