Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes - September 5th, 2023

Senators Present: Francisco Aguiniga, Reza Ahangar, Polly Allred, Marion Blake, Linda Challoo, Abiola Dipeolu, Colleen Ferguson, Michelle Garcia, Norma Guzman, Brent Hedquist, David Hicks, Haeyoung Kim, Yongsok Kim, Maura Krestar, Anne-Marie Lelkes, Skye Limon, Jingbo Liu, Jody Marin, Brian Menaker, Reza Nekovei, Kathleen Rees, Jianhong Ren, Sandra Rideout-Hanzak, Brian Robinson, Amber Shipherd, Tuschar Sinha, Pamela Wright, Thomas Zinninger

Absent: Jesus De La Rosa, Fidel Hernandez, Mais Nijim, Hans Schumann, Velda Soydas, Benjamin Turner, Chongwei Xiao, Subbarao Yelisetti

Presiding: Michael Houf, Faculty Senate President

This meeting of the Faculty Senate was conducted as a virtual/face-to-face hybrid in BUSA 104.

I. Call to Order and Quorum Call.

Meeting called to order at approximately 3:40 pm by Dr. Michael Houf.

II. Presentation

- a. Jordan Spivey, Annual Giving Coordinator, presented information about the Annual Day of Giving event upcoming on September 15th.
- b. Dr. Kristina Ramirez Wilson, Chief of Performance Excellence and Strategy, shared information about the strategic plan process along with proposed statements of mission, vision, and shared values.
- c. Dr. James Palmer, Provost & Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs, presented information about a list of priorities recently given to deans. He also shared information about a new faculty/staff awards program.

III. Approval of Minutes from September 2023 meeting

a. Motion to approve September minutes, made by Dr. Norma Guzman and seconded by Dr. Jody Marin, passed with a unanimous vote.

IV. Report of Officers

a. President Dr. Houf reported on his recent meeting in College Station with system faculty senate leaders. Dr. Houf took time to acknowledge our recently departed colleague and former faculty senate president, Dr. Rick Miller.

V. Standing Committee Reports

- a. Committee on Committees no report
- Elections Committee no report, but elections are needed to replace two senators who
 are no longer at TAMUK, and possibly one senator from Chemical and Natural Gas
 Engineering.
- c. Resolution and By-laws committee no report

VI. Committees Reporting to the Senate

- a. Administrator Evaluation Committee no report
- b. Annual Faculty Lecture Committee no report
- c. Faculty Benefits Committee no report
- d. Faculty Evaluation Committee no report
- e. Faculty Handbook Committee no report
- f. Piper Award Committee no report

- g. Policy and Revision Committee no report
- h. Ad-hoc Salary Equity Committee no report
- i. Ad-hoc Faculty Morale Survey Committee no report

VII. Old business

a. AOP Post Tenure Review and System Policy 12.06 – Dr. Houf led a discussion and then the group informally decided to form a taskforce with representatives from each college and the library.

VIII. New Business

- a. System Regulation on Employee Authored Course Materials discussed and senators charged with gathering feedback from faculty in their units about which option to choose and how the policy might be administered.
- b. Faculty Reinvestment Program will be reinstituted and folks who would like to serve on the committee should email Dr. Houf.
- c. Memories of the Fallen committee will be formed with Kirsten Compary, Dean of Students, as chair, along with three representatives each from the Student Government Association, the Staff Council, and the Faculty/Faculty Senate. Email Dr. Houf if you are interested in serving on this committee.

IX. Announcements

- a. Dr. Amber Shipherd, Director of the Center for Teaching Effectiveness, shared information about upcoming events and opportunities for faculty development.
- **X.** Meeting adjourned at approximately 4:40pm